Girls and Dolls on Fifth Avenue


Image

By: Anna Urquhart

New York City. A clear, summer day. The sun shimmers off the buildings lining Fifth Avenue. A light breeze sweeps along the street. The smell of almonds roasting wafts from a nearby street vendor’s cart. My 7-year-old daughter grips my hand tightly as we cross the street.

On the corner of 49th Street, just a block away from St. Patrick’s Cathedral, sits the American Girl Place. Three floors of a girl’s dream come true. Dolls upon dolls upon dolls. Replete with clothes, accessories, pets. And, yes, there’s lots of pink.

Image

My daughter and I spend a leisurely bit of time browsing around the store. We purchase a new outfit for her doll, Julie, whom she has brought along (and will spend the bus ride home dressing Julie in her new attire). Then we mosey to the third floor where we meet up with the rest of the Bob Neff Tours group and are shown into the American Girl Cafe. The American Girl company has shown a strict dedication to quality over the years, and their cafe is no different.

Image

With places set for all the girls and their dolls, we sit and are treated to a scrumptious 4-course lunch, unhurried and with a great attention to detail by the staff.  (There is even a doll holder in the bathroom so you don’t have to set your doll down while using the lavatory!)

Image

Julie just hanging out. Yes, I actually did take a picture in the bathroom. I couldn’t help myself!

After lunch we have time to stroll into Times Square, ride the ferris wheel in Toys R Us, sip berry smoothies at the Europa Cafe, and giggle as we try on sunglasses from a street vendor.  It is an absolutely delightful day, made perfect by the fact that I don’t have to drive or navigate through traffic or park or mess with planning. My job is to enjoy my daughter and spend the day making memories. And that is precisely what we do.

Image

Image

Image

One thought on “Girls and Dolls on Fifth Avenue

Leave a comment